7 years and couting…

Standard

Dear Kalyb,

You turned 7 a week ago.  What a full-of-life 7 year old you are!  You continue to be passionate, opinionated, a mixture of shy/outgoing, and emotional.  It is not hard to guess how you’re feeling – we know when you’re mad, happy, excited, anxious, upset, sad, thrilled, etc.  You just wear it all on your sleeves!  And, at times it can be frustrating for us – but, as it stands, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I like that we don’t have to guess.  I just have to remind myself that you emoting is your way of communicating!

You wrapped up your first experience of 1st grade in a school district and at a school where the teachers totally adored you and that couldn’t have made me happier.  Oak Cliff probably wasn’t the best fit for you, so I’m thankful we had the opportunity for you to go somewhere where people saw what we see in you – a curious, compassionate, sweet and lovely little boy trying to make sense of everything.

If things don’t make sense to you, you make sure to let us know.  ‘That doesn’t make sense’ often leaves your mouth!  You constantly ask ‘why’ – and at times, it can drive us crazy, the reality is, you are so interactive with your environment.  You want to know!  You like figuring things out.  You enjoy putting things together.

You continue to have a very strong sense of right and wrong.  Justice.  You are an absolutely incredible big brother, even more so than we thought you would be.  You love entertaining her,  making her laugh, and speaking ‘baby’ to her.  When you talked with her on skype, your whole demeanor and language changed as you cooed over your ‘squishy little Marshmallow’.  Be still my heart! 

You are in the 90th percentile for height and 75th for weight.  You continue to pick at your nails and pull string all. the. time.  I constantly find wads of string around your seat in the car, in the bathroom, by your bed, etc.  You silly little guy!  We’re trying to work that one out.

You are a joy to be around a majority of the time – at other times, you are very aware of your need for some alone time to rejuvenate.  I’m always impressed by how self-aware

you are. We often get comments about how wise you are beyond your years, about your incredible ability to ask questions, and what a gentleman you are – holding doors for the ladies! You have an amazing sense of humor – you’re already sarcastic and silly and love giving people a taste of their own medicine. You love guns, swords, weapons, and all things boy. You aren’t much a fan of surprises – which is why I was surprised you were convinced you wanted a surprise ‘pie in your face’ on your birthday. Which your dad happily gave you and your surprise birthday party (that you also planned, shocking to me – I asked what you wanted and you said, ‘not a superhero party like last year…a surprise party!’ and continued to list all of the details…). Needless to say, you weren’t thrilled with that pie in the face. Though, later that night tried to convince us that you had ‘fooled us all’ with your tears, anger and frustration. You turned it around quickly though and enjoyed your party!

You continue to be sensitive to things of the Lord – you remember stories, names, details. You ask incredible questions and ask that I add them to your ‘list of things to ask Jesus when you get to Heaven.’ You are a natural learner, a great reader, and so curious. We are so thankful for the young boy you are becoming, though parenting you constantly reminds us of our need for the Lord! And this is a good thing! We love you, Kalyb Isaiah Dicken. Happy 7th birthday!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

