A little late…

Standard

Now that I’m beginning to work on her 6 month blog, it’s probably time that I post her 4 and 5 month overviews….

4 months

I feel bad I’m running a few weeks behind on the updates.  There are several reasons for this – the main one being the WHIRLWIND of the past few months with our relatively quickly-decided move to Colorado Springs (details on that to follow!).

Additionally, if I were to have written a little summary at her 4 month ‘birthday’, it might not have been the nicest thing ever as she decided to revert back to waking up every 2-3 hours.  All night long.  Every night.  For 6 weeks.  When I googled it, it appeared there might be a growth spurt so I felt that I needed to nurse her each time she woke up.  Then I think she got used to it! 

She did great at her four month appointment and definitely had started to grow LOTS!  She was 13 lb 12 oz, 24.75 inches long and her head was 16.75 inches.  She was in the 45% for weight and 60% for height – moving on up!

I returned to work for two weeks during her 3rd month and it was a welcome two weeks.  We found an awesome daycare down the street from our house in Dallas and they were so sweet with her despite her feistiness with a bottle.  Ugh.  The battle of the bottle.  No. Fun.  By the last day, the one lady that hadn’t been able to get her to take a bottle finally experienced victory.  Hard-earned victory!  And of course, she preferred being at a particular angle, with a particular nipple (the NINTH we tried – and the daycare worker finally left work and bought the ones her son had taken…the Gerber replacement nipples aka the cheapest ones!), and at a certain temperature.  No, we’re not high maintenance at all around here.

At her four month appointment, she wasn’t hoisting herself up on her arms as much as the doctor would like, so more tummy time has been in order.  Her neck is super strong and her legs are super strong.  And during this month, she finally started consistently smiling and engaging; so sweet!  Makes the sleepless nights almost worth it.

Kadence Emercyn turned 4 months while visiting Mimi and Papa in California (another blog post on that to follow as well) – so FUN to spend some time with them! 

5 months

 

This was a BUSY month!  She finally started to sporadically and inconsistently roll over when placed on her tummy.  She is smiling A LOT and loving being interacted with.  At. All. Times.  Josiah was initially a little offended that I said we didn’t have a chill baby, but after moving in with his parents in Colorado Springs and getting the insight of his mom as well, it became undeniable that we have a high-maintenance child.  Not necessarily a bad thing.  But a very take-all-your-energy thing!  She still wasn’t sleeping very well – so we started letting her cry a little bit more in attempts to self soothe.  And some nights that worked and other nights it didn’t.   Hit or miss around here!

She turned five months while her cousins were visiting from Amarillo in addition to Desi being here from Georgia and us getting to go spend a few days with  Jen & Cindy in Longmont (yet another blog post that needs to be written…now you can see why updates have been relatively nonexistent.  So much fun stuff going on!)

She was getting A LOT fussier at night this month.  Thankfully, only two nights of inconsolable crying for about 45 minutes.  So sad.  I don’t think she’s teething, I think it’s one of those ‘wonder week’ situations or just a response to all of the change that we’ve had.

We spent the middle of this month moving out to Colorado Springs.  Kalyb and Kadence were ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE on our trek out here!  We did a 7 hour day the first day (with limited tears!) and a 6 hour day the second day…not bad at all!  We made the trek with our kittens in tow, and they did fine as well!  I was so impressed with our kids though.  Kalyb is so sweet and interactive with Kadence; it just melts my heart.  I really hope she is as sweet with him as he is with her.  Josiah continues to be the best, doting Daddy ever and is totally enamored with her.

She’s adjusted relatively well to being out here in C/S but still struggles with consistent, long stretches of sleep.  Lynn and Rudy have been so helpful and have watched the kids so much this month allowing us to really get involved with meeting people at church.

I’m trying to think of other random things I’ll want to remember – the sleepless nights I’ll be thankful to forget!  She was in her newborn clothes until 12 weeks and in her newborn diapers for 10 weeks!  She flew through her size 1 and 2 diapers in the next few weeks and starting at about 4.5 months switched into size 3 diapers, though is still rocking her 0-3 month clothes due to how skinny she is.  She could wear longer pants, but they look cute as capris for the summer :0)

She is definitely starting to grab more – at hair, dogs, faces, stuff, etc.  We had so much fun hanging out with Desi, Jen and Cindy who just loved on her!  There’s a lot more fresh in my mind but it’s more for her 6 month post, so I’ll wait until then!

She continues to be a blessing to our family and despite the zombie-like state I’ve been surviving in the past few months, I’m so thankful for her life and her health.  We love that little girl SO much!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

